Friday, June 24, 2011

IEF Elects New Board Members and Officers for 2011-2012

The IEF's Annual Board of Directors meeting took place on Thursday, June 23 at the home of Director Shahin Mafi. During the meeting, the Board elected new and returning Directors to the Governing Board. Elected for a second three year term was Paul T. Gavaris, MD. Newly elected to the Board were Ralph J. Helmsen, PhD - a retired researcher at the National Eye Institute, Her Excellency Mwanaidi Sinare Maajar - Ambassador from Tanzania to the US, Frances Pierce - Chairman, President & CEO of Data Systems Analysts, Inc., and A. Raymond Pilkerton, MD - retired Ophthalmologist, founder of the Retina Group of Washington.

The Board also elected Officers to lead the IEF for the 2011-2012 year. Elected were: - Chairman - Frank S. Ashburn, Jr., MD - Vice Chairman - Frances P. Legon - Treasurer - Roger Jantio - Secretary - Kathryn D. Leckey - Senior Medical Director - Mary Catherine Fischer, MD

Photo: IEF Board members in action during Annual meeting

Friday, June 10, 2011

Sipping Wine at the Pearl to Save Sight

Last Sunday, June 5, a crowd of 35 gathered on the outside deck of the Cultured Pearl Japanese Restaurant and Sushi Bar in Rehoboth Beach, Delaware to enjoy some fine wines and fantastic hors d'oeuvres. Sipping and noshing were the order of the day, yet it was all to benefit the IEF and its sight saving work.

The wines, carefully selected to complement the Cultured Pearl's outstanding hors d'oeuvres, were provided by Vintage Imports through Bin 66 Wine and Spirits. A great success, we hope to make this an annual event.

The IEF wishes to acknowledge the contributions of Rob Wood, Donna Welsh, and Nick of the Cultured Pearl, Paul Zientek of Vintage Imports, Tom Poor of Bin 66 Wine and Spirits, and Brent Mundt of CAMP Rehoboth.

Photos: Above L-R: Howard Pyle, Victoria Sheffield, Cathy Nowack, Calvin Baerveldt, Kathryn Leckey, William Madden and Kathleen Madden.

Right L-R: Brent Mundt, Victoria Sheffield, and Richard Legon.